Three pieces easy-peasy!

So as Summer is here I’ve realised that my stash of skirts is non-existent! In a bid to rectify that quickly I decided a long easy-to-wear maxi skirt would be my answer. Plus a skirt would be the ideal bottom to wear with the numerous True Bias Ogden Cami tops I had made and ready to wear!

The pattern: New Look 6288 Pull on Knit Skirts. I chose variation A, not only because i’m quite a simple girl but also because it was only three pieces – easy peasy!

IMG_0592

The fabric: A light-weight navy jersey from Sew Essential. (Navy goes with everything, right?!) This fabric has a lovely feel to it, very soft and pre-washed beautifully.

Notions: Matching thread and 1.5″ elastic.

The make: Well with just three pieces cut out I knew this wasn’t going to be a hard sew, in fact it was incredible easy. In one afternoon I traced the pattern, cut out the fabric and had the skirt made. I decided to go with a zig-zag stitch at the seams, I wanted to ensure this skirt could take the wear I knew I would throw at it. I shortened my stitch-width and length and so glad I did. The seams are tight but allow for movement.

To ensure the skirt was comfortable I cut the elastic a little longer than the pattern. I’m not one to wear skirts high on my waist and wanted the flexibility to wear lower on my hips. This was the first elastic waist band have inserted. I followed the instructions given and basted the seams so the elastic didn’t get caught up when pulling through.

Overall I’m super happy with this make and had it on the day after it was finished. Would I change anything, not really. The sizing is true to what it says. however it is a snug fit around the hips and bum, if you are a bit more hippy I would suggest measuring to ensure you don’t need to make any adjustments. Will I make more, yes definitely. I’m thinking a patterned knit or even a slightly shortened version!

skirt-june18.png

Leave a comment